Flea Market Finds: Antique Sewing Machine

Antique Sewing Machine Before

I hit up my local flea market this past weekend in search of some dusty treasures and inspiration. I was so excited to come across this little gem of modern industrialism and I had to share it with you. Check out the before and after pictures and the story below.
Antique Sewing Machine After

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I found this beauty peeking out among lots of machinery and tools that I wouldn’t begin to know the origin of or uses for. The machine is obviously missing several parts that would be needed if you planned to actually sew with it, but that didn’t matter to me. I prize it simply for its beautiful sturdy, intricate lines and its romantic symbolish of a time past. I looked beyond the layer of dust and muck and could picture it sitting proudly on the nearly empty desk in my living room.

A cool $10.00 and a good scrubbing later and my vision comes to life!

I have tried to do some research online to find out more about the machine with little luck.  I believe it is from the 40’s and was made in Japan. The label says it’s a “Best Built” De Luxe model. I simply cleaned it up using a mild car wash soap and some warm water and now it’s on display in my living room, sure to be a conversation piece for years to come! I hope it can inspire you to find your own flea market treasure for your home.

Flea Market Tips and Tricks

Price Tags Are Just a Starting Point vendors expect you to haggle, don’t be afraid to offer less

Image Detail

See Beyond the Dust:  don’t focus on the piece in front of you, rather envision what could be

Don’t Be Afraid to Get Dirty:  some of the best deals may be buried deep and a little elbow grease goes a long way

Don’t Follow the Crowd:  The best deals may be had during the off-season, just before closing time, or during bad weather. The vendors are there to sell and may be more willing to bargain with you on a slow day.

Carry Cash: Money talks and it’s much easier to haggle with paper than plastic

Sometimes the Thrill is in the Hunt:  You may not find something wonderful on every shopping trip. Sometimes having disappointing days at the flea market makes finding that great treasure later even sweeter.

Leave a Reply

