Flea Market Find and Refashion: Art Deco Bottles

On my last trip to the flea market I came across some vintage glassware and plastic perfume bottles from a few decades ago. I was drawn to the shapes of the containers but not the finish. I got the whole lot for $5.00 and decided a refashion was in order.

Perfume Bottles Before
Glass Vase Before

  I brought my treasures home and immediately cleaned them up with mild car washing soap and water. After they dried I used glossy all-purpose spray paint to give them an easy face lift. I placed the small pieces on an old cardboard box for painting. This gave me easier access to all the little crevices and allowed me to easily move them onto my screened in porch for the night to dry.  It took a total of three coats with a little drying time in between each to reach the finish I wanted. The paint takes longer to dry on plastic than other materials so I recommend letting it dry for about 24 hours before bringing it inside.

Once dried I moved my refashioned “art-decoish” pretties into my guest room. This was a cheap and easy way to add a little pizzaz to the bedroom’s decor. There is nothing like seeing your vision come together. I hope this project will inspire you to do your own flea market refashion!

Finished Art Deco Containers

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. jennidaizy
    Sep 02, 2011 @ 19:34:09

    Thanks for the cool tutorial. The textures you found made a STUNNING display. Great find:) I am a vintage junkie myself so I am always looking for new ideas. Thanks for the inspiration.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

