DIY Monogrammed Hand Towel Tutorial

I was looking for a quick and easy house-warming present for my sister and decided to make her a set of monogrammed hand towels for her new kitchen out of some fabric scraps I had left over from other projects. Here is what I did:

White waffle knit hand towel

I started with a plain white waffle knit hand towel that I bought in a pack of 6 at T.J. Maxx.

Cut out a strip of fabric

I cut out a strip of fabric using a cutting grid and ruler to keep it nice and straight. I cut the fabric 1″ wider than than width of the towel and 1″ longer than I wanted the finished border to be.

I sewed a loose 1/2" basting stitch all around the perimeter of the material.

I sewed a loose basting stitch 1/2″ all the way around the perimeter of the material. This stitch serves as a folding guide line in the next step and helps you keep everything nice and straight.

Fold the material in on the guide line stitch and iron in place.

With the wrong side facing up fold your material on the guide line stitch you created and iron in place.

Pin the strip of material in place on your towel.

Turn your material right side up and pin it in place on your hand towel. I placed mine about 2″ up from the bottom of the towel. I used my ruler as a guide to make sure it was straight.

Sew all around the perimeter of the fabric using a 1/4" seam allowance.

I sewed all around the perimeter of the fabric using a 1/4″ seam allowance. Make sure when you sew that you are sewing through the folded portion of your fabric as well as the towel.

Cut a pattern out of paper for the letters of your monogram.

Cut a pattern out of paper for the letters of the your monogram. I used my cricut machine to cut the letter pattern but you could easily use any word processing program to design your letters and cut them out by hand. I cut the first and middle initial out at 4″ and the initial representing the last name at 5 1/2″.

Cut out letter pattern.

Iron double-sided fusing paper to the back of a piece of scrap fabric that is large enough to cut the initials from. Pin the paper initial pattern to the fabric and cut out the letters.

Pin the letter pattern to the fabric and cut out the shape.

 

Pin the initials in place on the towel and iron them on.

Pin the initials in placeon the towel and iron themin place. Set your sewing machine to a medium tight zig zag stitch and carefully stitch around the perimeter of each letter.

Zig zag stitch around the perimeter of each initial.

Congratulations you just created an easy house-warming gift that is extra special because it was home made by you! Your finished product should look something like this:

Finished Monogrammed Hand Towel

 

Leave a Reply

